rayofmemory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

::crows and childhood::

I wonder what the crows in the backyard are talking about. "Caw caw." "Caw caw caw caw caw." Interesting. And then every so often a bunch of them will just jump in the conversation and start a fight. I wonder if it's a family of crows back there.

I had something more important to talk about yesterday...and now I don't remember what it was.

This was written a couple of days ago...just to remind myself...

I was rifling through memories yesterday. Trying to find my fondest ones. Like sitting under the tree in front of our old house. Comforted by the shade, warmed by the sun�reading a book. Raking up piles of leaves only to make a mess by jumping in the middle of them. Playing tag or hide and seek in the middle of the night with Brandy, Josh and Jeremiah. Laying on my grandmothers carpet.

There was a church on the corner from my old house. A big parking lot and a little field next to it. Roller blading and biking took place on the pavement, in the field we'd sit and talk, have picnics�lay in the grass.

Around the block there was another building, a small elementary school or something. All I remember is the weeping willow tree by the building. I remember laying under it, to watch the leaves flow with the breeze.

I remember being able to walk out of the house every morning like everything was alright in the world. Throwing of the covers in the morning, hurrying to get dressed, grabbing a quick breakfast and heading out the back door towards Brandy's house. Walking down the street watching the rest of the neighbor wake up. I would sit in the black plastic chair on the right of the front door and lean back until I was up against the brick wall. A few minutes later, while I was eating an apple or some other snack, Brandy's mother would pull out the driveway to go to work. Which meant Brandy would be out soon. Her mother wakes her up before leaving. I'd wave goodbye, and Brandy sat in the plastic chair on the left with a bowl of cereal or oatmeal and we'd sit there, in silence and watch the rest world wake up.

I remember playing in the cool green grass on Abbie's grandmother's front lawn. It was Brandy, Abbie, Paige, Miranda and me. we pretended we were baby bunnies, or kittens or something innocent like that. We would crawl all over the lawn making up the story as we went along. I remember playing with beanie babies with Christie. And I remember Jackie's wild and scary ghost stories, and her sophisticated ten year old attitude.

A path was cleared, when I was rummaging through a photo album yesterday. And I stumbled upon a photograph of Brandy, Christie, Jackie and me standing in Brandy's front lawn with a lemonade stand set up.

9:46 a.m. - 2002-07-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bloodyscars
ejaculated
frozen-vodka
jenne1017
be-my-heroin
purplebanana
nanovodka
oh-organic
swollen-scar