rayofmemory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

::metaphor::

Song of the Moment: "Misery" by Pink feat. Steven Tyler.

If you could travel at the speed of light, where would you go right now? What is it for you that truly makes 'no place like home'?

I knew right away what my answer would be to this question. If I could travel at the speed of light anywhere, it would be Warren, Michigan. A few years ago we moved two hours away from there and I never adapted well to where we live now. It was never the actual distance that affected me, but the emotional distance. I left my friends and most of my family behind. But mostly, I left my heart behind as well. 'Home is where the heart is.' And my heart didn't follow me here. I left it behind with my best friends, Brandy, Jessie, Teresa, Jamie, Todd, Jeremiah, Brian, and Josh. I left it behind with the boy who lived in the yellow house, who was the first boy I ever loved. I left it behind in the little house we lived in. In the sky blue painted walls of my room. I left it in the grass, by the maple tree on our front lawn where I used to read. I left it in the black-top parking lot where I used to roller blade and ride my bike. I left it in the willow tree across from the church. Where I would climb as high as I could and pretend I was a bird perched on the branch or a cat lazing around. I left my heart in Warren.

When we moved I had no intention of bringing my heart with me and I didn't. I still haven't adapted. This is not my home and it never will be. My home is not in the shape of a house. It is in the form of a city with my heart etched in it.

1:05 a.m. - 2003-04-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bloodyscars
ejaculated
frozen-vodka
jenne1017
be-my-heroin
purplebanana
nanovodka
oh-organic
swollen-scar